Close this search box.

South Australia’s 2024 Top 10 Ag Towns announced

Abbie Tiller

The top of the crop have been announced in the search for the 2024 South Australian Agricultural Town of the Year.

Thousands of votes were cast from across the state, narrowing down the long list of thriving rural towns up for nomination.

From the Coonawarra to the Mid North, and the enthusiastic Eyre Peninsula, the top 10 Ag towns are spread far and wide across the State.

Kapunda, Bute, Eudunda, Cummins, Gladstone, Kimba, Burra, Laura, Penola and Jamestown have made it through to the next stage of the competition, edging a step closer to taking out the coveted award.

Each town will now be invited to submit written applications that outline how they promote and support agriculture, with three finalists going through to the “town visits’ stage of the competition.

Introduced in 2019, the Agricultural Town of the Year Award recognises the importance of developing and maintaining a strong agricultural sector in South Australia by recognising towns excelling in agricultural practices, strengthening their region, and supporting a vibrant and resilient community.

Last year Wudinna on the Eyre Peninsula took out the coveted Award in recognition of the town’s leadership in the agriculture sector including in agricultural education for local children and young people and for its current and relevant farmer-driven research and development.

Mypolonga, Kimba, Pinnaroo, and Cleve have also previously won the Award and now proudly display a sign in recognition of their achievement at the entrance of the town for all to see.

The 2024 winner will be announced at the Regional Showcase Awards celebration event on October 24.





More greatness

Send Us A Message